Sansui eight with relay - weak FM signal

Jomp

Hi AKers, I am an electronics novice but a Sansui lover. I need your help with my Sansui eight that has a relay - it has 3 problems:
1. the FM signal maxes out at 4 and the Mono button must be pushed in to get sound from both speakers. If the Mono button is not pushed in I only get sound from the left channel - in both situations, the Stereo light works OK when a station is tuned in.
2. the AM band is very noisy and can hardly pick up any station
3. when the unit is turned off, the relay unclicks but at the same time there is a thump from both speakers. The unit is DC offset and bias as per the manual and they are OK.
Appreciate any ideas/views/advice about these problems. BTW I have adjusted the frontend pots for the FM signals but no improvement
Cheers
YL

1) If you are looking at the signal meter when you say it maxes out at 4, that's pretty close to normal. If it receives stations clearly,it's probably OK. If you want the meter to read hire, there is usually a trimmer on the FM board that adjusts the level of the meter.
2) probably needs to have the tuner capacitor cleaned. There is a very good thread in the tuner forum on how to do that.
3) if the mono button restores both channels, you have a drop out in the preamp before the mono switch. The usual suspects are simply dirty controls. All of the controls on the front panel have a switch or a potentiometer behind them, all of them need to be cleaned.

Please post the serial number for the database. Click on the link in my signature block.

- Pete

Thank you Pete for your thorough reply. I have sprayed electronics lube and clean into all the switches and pots and twitched and turned them numerous times but the Mono button still needs to be pushed in to get FM sound from both speakers. I will investigate the preamp to see if I can see anything obvious.