Great "Every Day Carry" knives

my early 90s Supertool lives in my laptop bag, it has gotten a bit of use at the office recently

20180412_supertool.jpg

I've been looking for one of these since they came out and I was a poor college student and couldn't afford a decent knife. Finally caught up with one on ebay and snatched it up. I really like it for EDC. It's a Tekna Hidden Edge from the early 90's. Super light, locks open and closed, and so far seems to hold an edge well.

hidden edge.jpg

I've been looking for one of these since they came out and I was a poor college student and couldn't afford a decent knife. Finally caught up with one on ebay and snatched it up. I really like it for EDC. It's a Tekna Hidden Edge from the early 90's. Super light, locks open and closed, and so far seems to hold an edge well.

View attachment 1165942

Tekna made some cool pieces. I've had a few of their auto-sheath retracting knives. I think I had one like yours too. Do you squeeze then turn at the base of the blade to open it? I had one that looked similar (if not identical) but don't recall the maker. That's how you opened it.

It’s a bottle opener... technically.

...nudge...nudge...

I have an 80s el cheapo 2-finger bottle opener while my son has a collection of some rather expensive short run ones from the Jerzee Devil forums plus a Dalton. They can go for some real coin especially when in titanium. I always keep looking for a legit set of Civil War ones. Widely used by both sides, usually cast-iron but also lead & brass.

Tekna made some cool pieces. I've had a few of their auto-sheath retracting knives. I think I had one like yours too. Do you squeeze then turn at the base of the blade to open it? I had one that looked similar (if not identical) but don't recall the maker. That's how you opened it.