Who still listens to their 14 bit first generation cd player?

Was still using a Tandberg 3015A which was the earlier dual 14-bit model (think Philips CD150 with overbuilt PS and discrete class A audio section), but moved to the 16-bit version of that machine (same design but based on CD160 w/TDA1541 DAC).

I like them both.

John

Was still using a Tandberg 3015A which was the earlier dual 14-bit model (think Philips CD150 with overbuilt PS and discrete class A audio section), but moved to the 16-bit version of that machine (same design but based on CD160 w/TDA1541 DAC).

I like them both.

John

How does your Tandberg sound in comparison to the philips?
Ive got second generation revox the model after b225/226 with single crown i think its called the plus. The early revoxes broke down alot rarely seen one that worked properly or didnt have issues

I have limited experience with the original Philips but I can imagine that replacing the original Philips op-amp output section with an entire amp board running class A and discrete transistors throughout (which also includes a dedicated headphone amp) has to put it above the Philips even though they share the digital board & pickup.

Talk to member Tinman about your Revox players, I think his experience is quite different than yours and he is a master of these Philips based players as well as other early CD machines.

John

In fact the dual-14 bit players handle 16-bit content just fine, better in fact than most of the 1st gen 16-bit stuff made in Japan which is actually the stuff that gave digital a bad name (that, and the failure by recording engineers to grasp the essentials for mastering CD's in the early days).

You might want to read a little more about the very excellent engineering that went into these early 14-bit machines before you consign them to the scrap heap. They did a superb job of pulling that off under duress of time after the consortium made a late decision to adopt 16-bit as the standard.

John