Pioneer SX-650 Help

Erik67

Hey everyone, I have a Pionner SX-650 and I would like some help with it. It works good except it does not work on Phono or Aux. I have a service manual for it but I still need some help. I’ve worked on this receiver a little. I recapped the power supply board but that’s it. I bought this receiver used and it came with the Phono and Aux broken already. Also when using the tape function only one speaker works on stereo but on mono both speakers work. Any help would be appreciated since I’m a beginner at this.

Does FM work in stereo mode?

If so, that eliminates everything from the tone amps onward. Doing that leaves nothing but the function/signal switches. In phono mode there are preamplifiers for each channel, but in TAPE and AUX modes there are only the switches.

It would be good to verify that the switches have been thoroughly cleaned and de-oxidized, and then lubricated.

I'd be more concerned with the function switches, but you might as well get them all in good condition.

Ok I cleaned them all very well with deoxit. The Stereo now works well. I still have no Phono and Aux though.

The AUX input is switched by contacts within the MIC jack. If you apply some cleaner to the leaf contacts on the jack and alternately plug and unplug a ¼" phone plug into the jack it should exercise the contacts and hopefully wipe them clean. In that way, when the phone plug is removed from the jack the AUX inputs should be connected to the rotary function switch. As long as all decks of that switch are clean, signal should get through.

The PHONO input also routes through the rotary selector switch, but after a pair of OP amps used to amplify the signal to a usable level. It's possible the amps could be an issue, or the rotary switch.

I excerized the contacts as you suggested and still nothing. If I plug in a pair of headphones and turn it up all the way though you can just barely hear it.