Russian Teflon caps

nj pheonix

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I know there's a bit of dissension here about cap break in , in general.
Its been my experience using the Russian PIO caps that there is a break in period. If you disagree i respect your opinion but for the sake of this discussion let's not go off track please.
So , if you're with me so far and agree that if takes some time before they are done doing whatever that might be. My question now goes to, is there a similar break in period for the Teflon Russian caps ? I've never used them before but I'm planning to use them in something in the future. Thanks in advance.

Hi Andy,
I use them a lot. And they are my favorite caps, when they fit...

Break in period is very long. For 10 hours, it is good. Then from 10 to 50 it is horrible, all fuzzy and messed up.

You think you've made a big mistake: just stay cool and carry on.

After 50 hours it is better but it really opens up after 100 hours.

Then these caps are absolutely fantastic. Clarity, details and no alteration. Superb cap.

I do shrink wrap them.

20171006_151114.jpg

I don't know about Russian Caps but I find that the Sprague PIO's I have in my Fisher KX200
sounds better when it's on awhile, it just opens up more.

I'd be tempted to try and shortcut that whole breakin process by just running them at full rated voltage for a while. Hook them all up to the cap tester and let it cook for an evening.

I think i read somewhere , where someone used some kind of sweep generator and an amp to do just that. I like the idea but i have neither:dunno:

Yeah, I thought about doing that.

Having my B+ PS generating 400VDC, and adding a AC voltage into it through the caps into a grounded resistor.
But then I'll cook my PS tubes, ha ha.

I don't think you need to push them at full voltage, just having a nice AC amplitude through the cap is more important IMO.