One lens?

I used to shoot a prime lens exclusively 30+ years ago. The lack of being able to crop within the lens just became a source of frustration for me. I still will use my trusty 50mm lens from 1985 for special shoots, or when I need good low-light performance. But if I had to choose only one, then a zoom has to win it.

It would be neat, however, to do a photo challenge (even here at AK!) where we all take photos using our prime lenses only. Maybe a bi-weekly photo challenge series of threads? There could be a lot of themes. I can think of a half dozen right off the bat. :)

I am new to photography this year. Current setup is a Nikon D3300 with the 35mm prime Nikkor lens. I'm shooting and editing in RAW and trying to figure out how to properly calibrate my new monitor.

My goal is to shoot only with this 35mm lens for one complete year. After that I'll evaluate what I do and don't like about my current setup and probably upgrade body and lens. I see blogs where people shoot exclusively fixed focus lenses and I love that minimalism. We will see how practical that goal is.

With the 1.5 crop factor, this is equivlent to a "normal" lens, so an ordinary print seems to have normal perspective. To me, using only this lens for a year seems restrictive. I would go for something wider, like a 28 or 30 mm [correction , 24mm], (about 35mm eqivalent, what you might find on a 35mm film rangefinder camera) to give me a chance to "zoom with my feet" or crop a bit in the print.

I could almost get by with just a 35mm on a crop body. When the D300/D90 were my main bodies, a 28-75 f2.8 and the 35 1.8 got the most use.

In fact, I just ordered a lowly Yongnuo 35mm lens for Nikon as theirs work on a crop and full frame. I ordered through Amazon in case there are any issues.

In my opinion, esp for crop bodies, that Nikon 35mm f1.8 DX lens is probably the best value going. I think it does almost everything the 50 1.8 does, but just a little bit better.