Sansui!!!!

Joe DeQuarto

58591013-27F1-46DE-85F3-8F2657C32BE1.jpeg Hey everyone,
Just wanted to post picture of my new edition to the family Sansui TU-717.
I have a question: Can anyone give me any info on the best bulbs to get and where do get them for this unit? Thanks in advance joe

Thank you,
I already composed and sent him an email.
I am looking to go to a blue led display lamp, hopefully he can help me out.
I am an electrician by trade and this type of project is like therapy for me.
Thanks again, joe

Blue on a Sansui.. Sacrilege. JMHO.. Dave will hook you up. He has some nice LED options that work really well with the TU-717.

Sorry about the blue on Sansui for all you die hard Sansui people, no harm intended. Honestly, don’t even know why I want blue, just think it would look cool.
The unit itself is incredible! I literally used whatever cables I had laying around and the lame antenna wire that comes with package units.
Reception is great, holds stations well, sound is incredible.
I need to find a manual so I can get well versed on controls and settings.

To my way of thinking blue is wrong because it gives a false colour to the dial. The first time I saw a (single) blue LED I thought it was excellent, and there are situations when they can look great. However, everything was designed by Sansui (colour wise) for the 'off white' illumination provided by incandescent bulbs and anything other than that wouldn't look right. In case it isn't obvious by now, I am a hopeless Sansui 'die-hard' and even think that 'pure white' LED's would look wrong. I have a Sansui TU-719 whose dial illumination is the same as the TU-717, and couldn't imagine it with blue, to me it would look awful. However, I would be entirely happy to fit 'off-white' LED's to mine.

Last edited:
Solution: get two sets. I think you will be glad to swap to off-white or some similar clear/white color once the novelty of the blue fades.