Marantz 2238B Issue

TurboKid

Hello,
I am new to Audio Karma and I have learned much for reading the discussions on the forums from time to time that I thought it was time to finally join. I'm having an Issue with my Marantz 2238b receiver. It works and produces sound but all the controls such as volume, bass, treble, and mids do not work. They're stuck at the settings that I previously had. Turning any of the dials makes no difference. Wondering if anyone has some insight or had the same probably?

Hiyas and welcome.
Were there any changes to cabling and\or connections before this problem started?

Check the speaker and tape monitor buttons and make sure they are all correct for your source.

Nothing has been changed and all the connections are properly setup. The A & B speaker switches do work, it will swap between the two sets of speakers that I have hooked up. Right now I use the preamp between the turntable and receiver for volume. But no other knobs work besides power.

How long have you owned this receiver?
Any mods or adjustments prior to its present malfunctioning?

I have owned this receiver for five years so Im not sure if it has been modded, I haven't done anything since I owned it. Its the strangest thing really. I am amazed it still is putting out sound it's like the whole controls component just stopped working but the receiver still puts out sound from the turntable.

Welcome to AK! Are you plugging into the tape / tape monitor inputs? These are labelled in a way that is confusing. I know IN and OUT would have been much better than PLAY and RECORD! If this is done the wrong way around you will hear what is plugged in as well as what the selected function is and I think it bypasses the tone controls maybe?

One possible issue: the 2238b has an 'internal' connection for the "main out" and "pre in" option.
It is possible that the connection is faulty. You can test by bypassing externally with rca 'jumpers'.