Scott Stereomaster distortion Type 340 Tuner/Amp

LUKE RANDALL

Is there anyone out there that knows about Scott amplifiers? I have a Scott Stereomaster Model 340 Tuner/amplifier serial number- 202267. I can not find the circuit diagram for this particular unit. I have found many versions but none have matched mine. I am having trouble with distortion. I have replaced all the coupling capacitors, all the electrolytic, new tubes in power, rectifier and preamp. The problem seems to be in the phase inverter stage with the 6U8 tubes but because i can't find the proper suit diagram I can't figure out what is wrong. My technician gave up on this project and it is now over my head as well. Is there anyone out there that can help? This unit sounds so distorted that it is not possible to listen to it.

Luke Randall

Luke,
Welcome to AK! Sorry about the issues with your 340 receiver. I have restored a couple of 340B's, which are the next evolution of the 340. Here's a link to the 340 schematic from the H H Scott website (kept going by some outstanding AK'ers, I believe):

http://hhscott.com/pdf/340A.pdf

It's not unusual that a given unit will not exactly match a given available schematic, as Scott often did make some changes during production. However, the website archive says that the 340 was in production for little over a year before the 340B was introduced, so I would imagine major changes were unlikely. In any case, here are a couple of questions to try and help figure this out:

1. Is the distortion in all the audio sources (eg. Aux input, tuner, phono, etc)?
2. Is it for both channels, or just one?
3. If you suspect the driver/phase inverter, have you tried new tubes in that position (or swapping if it's just one channel)?
4. What leads you to believe it's the PI that is causing the issue?