Tube amp topologies

I'll really have to crack the books to get this.....

Could someone post what type some of the common tubes are? And/Or what type of circuits they might be used in....

EL34...very common

EL37....more rare...had a Fisher Model 100 monoblock that used this tube.

7591....also see this one in fisher equipment.

6V6.... this one seems pretty common also.

I believe all of those outside of the 6v6 are power pentodes. The 6v6 is a beam power tetrode.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What baffles me is how you can put an electric current through a certain combination of tubes, capacitors, resistors, transformers, diodes and wire and stuff and stuff and magically it turns into music. I don't understand electricity because I can't see anything move...that's why I'm a mechanical engineer. So much easier....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am yet another newbie here. I wish I had found your original thread a while ago. Very simple and yet informative. I too encourage you to expand upon this "For Dummies" approach. When you speak of output tubes in parallel. This means literally that the outputs are ganged together before the OPT? This does not cause any feedback or resistance problems for each of the ganged output circuits? What is the practical limit to such an approach?

All things said and done, when the audio signal gets to the end of the amp itusally goes into a transformer. Wouldn't the quality of the transformer has a big role whether the sound went through tubes or transistors. I have a MC252 that I am told has a very tube like sound. If I went to a similar McIntosh amp would the sound change much compared to the maintenance ?
That brings about another question... OTL amplifiers ?

""Output Transformer-Less" (OTL). OTL amps do not use an output transformer, are fairly exotic due to the number and size of tubes requires, and other factors. They are worthy of mentioning, but beyond the scope of a document aimed at a novice."