Thoughts on Balanced Cables

rocknroll1

I purchased a demo c1100 a few months ago and just added a pair of used 601's from AC's. I am new to higher end equipment and wanted your thoughts on balanced cables. Mike at AC said he a new pair for around $175 that in his opinion was as good as the higher priced ones without big name. I don't want to cheap out on cables after what I spent on equipment but don't want pay more than needed to just get a name. Sorry can't remember the brand. All my other equipment is vintage w/o balanced jacks so not much experience with that. I am not questioning the AC guys because have been very good to work and trust them. What are y'all thoughts on this.

Cable is sometimes likes snake oil. Go to Amazon and buy a pair of Amazonbasics balance cable. The quality is more than good enough.

I initially used some generic unbalanced RCA cables from my DAC to the MX135 and from the MX135 to the MC501's. I switched over to balanced XLR's using Audioquest Cinnamon cables at the suggestion of a friend. My first impression was it sounded the same but the more I listened, the more I heard.

A few years later I decided to upgrade and standardize all my power and interconnect to Wireworld cables, once again at the suggestion of that same friend. I was beginning to think he's an audio upgrade enabler having convinced me to upgrade the pre-amp, DAC & R/L main amps to McIntosh gear prior to the cabling upgrade. However, I digress.

Once I had upgraded the cabling and sat back to really listen I noticed I was hearing even more detail.

Call it snake or or not but I like upgraded cables and I like the balanced XLR connection over the unbalanced RCA connection.

Good luck with your cable upgrades.

AC sold me cables with the preamp I bought from them and they were $20 each. I thought he said they make them in house but the package said Hosa Edge microphone cables.