Eico ST40 find....

Theron D

(Cross-posted over at the Steve Hoffman site)

Yesterday's purchase in the neighborhood. Have not turned on yet. I believe this unit was factory wired since the work looks very good (IMO but I'm a novice in this area). Also the GZ34 rectifier tube is smoky grey at the top (see pic) so Im assuming it's bad? Those are Westinghouse 7951 Power Tubes (been looking for some for my Pilot 248B amp which is another recent adventure in itself.) Below are some pics, any feedback greatly appreciated, anyone have and can describe the sound? The small signal tubes are Mullard (Made in Great Britain), except the 12Ax7s which are Teles.

Description
The Eico ST40 amplifier was available as a kit or fully wired.

Specifications
Power output: 20 watts per channel into 8Ω (stereo)

Frequency response: 40Hz to 20kHz

Total harmonic distortion: 1%

Damping factor: 11

Input sensitivity: 3mV (MM), 360mV (line)

Speaker load impedance: 4Ω to 16Ω

Valve complement: 2 x 12AX7, 4 x 12DW7, 4 x 7591, 1 x GZ34

Dimensions: 403 x 130 x 333mm

Weight: 32lbs

Year: 1960

42744833701_5d97eab543_b.jpg

40934000120_90a9759d87_b.jpg

42744834791_b05396c527_b.jpg

28871313398_8cd6185f06_b.jpg

42744834631_efbb77d3e4_b.jpg

Last edited:
Wow, nice time capsule. And that rectifier tube is toast as you know.
Become a subscriber and check out Barter Town and you will find some great vintage ones with a little patience. New ones are readily available as well but that beauty deserves a vintage one.

Read up on some of the great literature here about starting out in tubes and what not to do etc.

Wow, nice time capsule. And that rectifier tube is toast as you know.
Become a subscriber and check out Barter Town and you will find some great vintage ones with a little patience. New ones are readily available as well but that beauty deserves a vintage one.

Read up on some of the great literature here about starting out in tubes and what not to do etc.