Next Step Up From 9090db

I’ll give my opinion on this one if I may. When I first started this vintage venture I started with a Sansui 661. After 6 months of use I thought “what can better this” so the chase began. I’ve come to realize it’s not “ better” it’s”different”. Wish I would have held onto that receiver instead of moving it to make room for what I thought could be “better”. IMHO they are ALL good, just different. So now I have 4 pieces I rotate in and out. I would never say one is better than the other, they each have their own attributes and it is a nice luxury to have. I could live with any one of them long term, but glad I don’t have to!

I’m no expert on restore/re-cap, but I did my own units with the awesome intelligent people here on AK. It’s really worth the time and effort.

So my take-away from all this is if you have a nice piece to start with, which you do, I would start with a resto first and then see/hear if it’s what you like. Then of course collect more and enjoy.

Good luck and most of all enjoy!

What part/SM package? You can make your own too. 2 diodes, bjt,R's. Your LM317 can be used, you can float it above ground

I would also consider the CA-F1 preamp. I've not tried it with the BA-F1 amp but I get the impression it gets you toward the AU-X1 type sound but with fewer problems .... to be fair, I've not compared side by side the CA-F1 to the AU-X1 (well AU-X11, since that is what I own) front end.

What part/SM package? You can make your own too. 2 diodes, bjt,R's. Your LM317 can be used, you can float it above ground
Yes, the LM317 is a good idea, I have a draw full of them, or maybe a LM234 or something I have a drawer full of those as well in TO92 package.......hmmm, good stuff Rick thinking outside the box!!

Earlier today I bought a Sansui AU-D11ii from AK member Jim. I forgot to ask him what his AK name is.