Totally beginner magnavox 8608

Jacques_579

FAF12EAF-5A2D-49F5-A588-8CB0DFEEA1DB.jpeg Hi guys,
I’ve recently acquired a magnavox 8608 from eBay. The amp was coming with a 50/50 uf can cap and 2 Russian PIO uninstal ( which I install when I received the amp ). After installing them the bass was kinda off and was told to change the bias. Now, I’m a total newb with tube amp ( I’ve read ,well tryed too, the Dave Gillespie thread on flea power) and I’m lost. I would like to modified it to the simplest as he did with his first shematic. I’m French and would pretty much like some help but in laymens term ( you guys can get pretty technical ). So please be gentle with me as I’m trying to understand something that seems pretty hard from my point of you lol.
Thanks
Fred

Those POI's appear to be in the wrong location. The need to REPLACE the 2 small brown round ceramic disc capacitors. One of which goes from pin 6 of 6EU7 tube to pin 2 of 6BQ5 tube. The other goes from pin 7 of 6EU7 to pin 2 of other 6BQ5. I re did mine per Dave's thread including the new output transformers and choke which are reasonably priced from AES. I just took my time and it was not as intimidating as I thought when I first got started. If you follow his schematic you will note that a lot of that wiring goes away.

Attachments

• DSCN2650.JPG
    DSCN2650.JPG
    122 KB · Views: 77
The 2 big white capacitors you replaced with the POI's are part of the wiring that goes away.
I think mine is a bit different then his as I did had two sprague .047 exactly at the same place as the new PIO are now. I’m wondering if I can follow is set up even tho there’s slight differences? And I ain’t that good reading a schematic but trying.
Thanks