Marantz speaker owners???

I have a question. These are the imperial 6-g, are the grille covers on them original or aftermarket?

71D86EB3-0D0D-41B3-80A7-95823A84E3EA.jpeg

Last edited:
I've been using a pair of HD770's for the past 10 years in the shop.

I found a genuine pair of woofers for them - rebuild the crossovers and added acoustic fill. The cabinets have been treated with Howard's and I replaced the grill cloth with a nice burnt orange color. I use them with the port open, even though I have the plugs.

While the HD770's are not nearly as bad ass as my Pioneer HPM100's - they're easy to listen to all day without any fatigue. - Chris

While the HD770's are not nearly as bad ass as my Pioneer HPM100's - they're easy to listen to all day without any fatigue. - Chris

Interesting. Our lives are 180 degrees out of phase. I have a pair of HPM100s in my shop that at one point I found to be "not nearly as bad ass as my" Marantz HD770s. They haven't been in the same room in a decade, so maybe a more recent A/B comparison is in order. They're both 4-ways of similar vintage with JBL lineage, although the Pioneers are a bit larger. I always found the HPMs to be a bit too boomy (just like the L100 they're an indirect copy of) and lacking cohesion. Neither is nearly as good as their L112 contemporary IMHO.