9.2 Home Theater Speaker Recommendations

srm51555

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Hello all,

I'm attempting to help my father in law find some speakers for his home theater. I have plenty of 2 channel DIY experience but when it come to the home theater stuff I really don't have a clue so I figured I'd go to the forum experts.

He already has a Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3070 9.2 receiver and ceiling speakers so we were hoping there would be a 7.2 solution he could purchase. The room is 16 feet wide by 27 feet deep. It has a little room behind the screen as well. At the entrance of the room the floor to ceiling height is around 8 feet and when standing by the screen it's about 9-10 feet because the floor sinks into the ground.

Given the size of the room the speaker budget is around $4k.

Thanks,
Scott

With the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3070 9.2 receiver, the extra channels of amplification are primarily aimed at Dolby Atmos users. Does your father-in-law have any interest in that format? If so, he could perhaps use his already installed ceiling speakers, for Atmos effects speakers.

As far as speaker brands? Whew? That's like you picking out a female, for a friends blind date. Not a smart thing to do. Tough to know everyone's tastes. Regardless, if I were personally looking at speakers for an Atmos system, I'd look at Goldenear Tech speakers. They offer matched speakers in every style; towers, bookshelf, wall mounted, and ceiling. Great speakers, that you could mix and match for a system. Goldenear was an early adopter for Atmos too, and their systems perform well in that regard. The SuperSat series could be used, and all wall mounted, for a low-key system, that would blend into a room. Add a Goldenear sub, and you're done!

Oh yea, the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3070 9.2 receiver is a nice starting point. I use the earlier RX-A3030 9.2 AVR, and love it.

Good luck.