DIY speakers you've drooled over but have yet to build!

Comes down to the work involved and being stuck with something that has zero resale value of you don't like the results.

Not worth it unless you know the outcome before you even begin. Hard to know the outcome of a diy kit.

This is what has kept me away from those kits.

It is tough with so many kits out there and having no idea of what they will sound like other than user reviews. I took a chance on the Zaph ZA5.2 TM as in-wall speakers and was blown away. I made one for a center channel speaker and am really happy with it. I'm building a couple more as gifts. I have zero woodworking experience but actually made a decent looking speaker box and found an excuse to get a router.
With the SR71 I found a lot of videos and some good ones comparing them to other speakers which is nice because you can tell more of a difference with the sound since the room and recording equipment are the same.

The drivers and crossover parts can get expensive but I found the actual building of the speaker to be relaxing so for the little cost of some baltic birch I'll experiment with a few more builds.
If you don't enjoy the building process then most DIY electronics doesn't make sense but if you enjoy the process of planning and building then it does just like any hobby.

Comes down to the work involved and being stuck with something that has zero resale value of you don't like the results.

Not worth it unless you know the outcome before you even begin. Hard to know the outcome of a diy kit.

This is what has kept me away from those kits.