Samsung HL-S6187W dlp tv, an myself not being to bright

jami w.

just being me thats all
i went out earlier today an bought 3 hdmi cables, came back and pulled out the tv stand. hooked it all up
tv to pioneer reciever, turn on tv the ps3 an stereo switched to tv settings button. no surround sound not even in 2 channel!!
now remember im still a noob to surround sound,
from ps3 to hdmi on tv
tv sound to reciever ( dvd/ld) audio input
as long as its either hooked to tv/sat- dvd/ld or the other dvd inputs on back an that front button is pushed, i should get surround sound but im not. im sure its something pretty stupid that im not seeing in either thetv settings/reciever settings.

(please read through the posts)

Last edited:
i went out earlier today an bought 3 hdmi cables, came back and pulled out the tv stand. hooked it all up
tv to pioneer reciever, turn on tv the ps3 an stereo switched to tv settings button. no surround sound not even in 2 channel!!
now remember im still a noob to surround sound,
from ps3 to hdmi on tv
tv sound to reciever ( dvd/ld) audio input
as long as its either hooked to tv/sat- dvd/ld or the other dvd inputs on back an that front button is pushed, i should get surround sound but im not. im sure its something pretty stupid that im not seeing in either thetv settings/reciever settings.

*only con about my tv and reciever- theres no digital out ( compisite cable) like old tv an marantz had

"from ps3 to hdmi on tv, tv sound to reciever ( dvd/ld) audio input"

Why hook it up this way? Why not PS3 HDMI to Receiver HDMI out to TV. That's how my old PS3-Pioneer system was connected, and I never had an issue. It played Blu-Ray and multichannel SACD without any problems, with that wiring method.

the gaming hook up on the pioneer is in the front, an its the rca jacks red/white/yellow.
so i have to hook it up through the tv. theres no gaming port (hdmi) on the back of reciever.