PC sound card as volume control ==> Dac ==> Active speakers

rooster2001

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Are there technical reasons that the titled configuration would degrade SQ? Dac has no volume control. I'd be using a wireless keyboard as a "remote". Thanks.

Thanks Al. Have been reading up a bit and am finding claims that when Windows output is reduced, that the bit depth is decreased. I've used dac's for a while but am now becoming curious if my setup is optimal.

Thanks Al. Have been reading up a bit and am finding claims that when Windows output is reduced, that the bit depth is decreased.
This is the first time I've heard that claim, and I've been using Windows for audio projects since 2000. Do you have a link?

Here is one I came across. Bear in mind that I may not be interpreting everything correctly given my current level of digital knowledge. Simply trying to educate myself.

Here is one I came across. Bear in mind that I may not be interpreting everything correctly given my current level of digital knowledge. Simply trying to educate myself.
All I needed to read was the title of the article stating it was nonsense and that was enough for me!!

That article has some good info but it's relevant to sound level only, not actual processing of the digital signal. I much prefer a more direct path for processing digital files:

PC/NAS ===USB===> DAC ===RCA/XLR===> pre-amp/receiver

Let the DAC process the digital file codec. That's what it is designed and built to do.

All I needed to read was the title of the article stating it was nonsense and that was enough for me!!
No article, simply a thread discussing the topic of my question. Additionally, the first sentence of the post states that the title was used for generating interest. Thanks anyway.

That article has some good info but it's relevant to sound level only, not actual processing of the digital signal. I much prefer a more direct path for processing digital files: