Dead 2275?

tmccullough

You are who, who you are
Greetings all!

I've had this 2275 sitting in my garage for maybe nine years now. I bought it when I was under the illusion that I was going to restore it, despite having the most rudimentary of tools and soldering skills. Lack of time and other priorities never let that happen. I've hit my "piss or get off the pot" moment, and reclaiming space is something I need to do.

While cleaning the contacts in my Pioneer SX-1080 yesterday, I opened it up again to inspect, take some pictures, and change the fuse in the back. When plugged in and turned on, there's nothing - no lights, no sound, no relay click. I didn't think unloading a can of DeOxit on the unit was a good use of DeOxit at that stage.

A couple things I noticed which could be a big part of the issue. First, someone hacked the power cord, and replaced a section of it with a polarized plug. I'm far from an expert, but I think this could be at least part of the problem. Second, the cap for the fuse holder doesn't appear to actually screw down to the fuse slot - there's no threading on the cap. This may not be an issue, but I am not sure since I don't have any prior Marantz experience. I've included a bunch of pictures from yesterday in the event the folks in the know have other suggestions.

I'm not adverse to putting effort into some basic fixes, but I suspect this may be beyond my skill set. I've read these units sound great, and frankly would like to hear myself. That said, I need to figure out if it would be worth restoring (objectively better than the SX-1080), and what that might cost. If it matters, the rest of my system is a Technics SL-1100 turntable, and JBL L100t speakers.

Appreciate any suggestions/comments/advice.

Attachments

• 20180704_142458.jpg
    20180704_142458.jpg
    44.7 KB · Views: 77
  • 20180704_142510.jpg
    20180704_142510.jpg
    65 KB · Views: 76
  • 20180704_142519.jpg
    20180704_142519.jpg
    73.1 KB · Views: 77