SX-950 Relay Bypassed and Burnt Resistors

Pageplayer

Hey All,
As I briefly mentioned in this thread Here, I happen to find a SX-950 at a OK price knowing it would need cleaning and a recap.
What I didn't expect is that when I opened it up before powering it up, I found that the relay assembly has been bypassed with a wiring hack, and I also noticed a couple burnt resistors on the power amp board.

So I guess I'll need a relay which I'll order with the recap BOM. I seen a list of Pioneer relay equivalents here on AK a couple weeks ago, but now I can't find it. o_O Can someone point me in that direction?

Seeing as how I'm pretty new to this hobby, I'll take any suggestions on how to approach the repair.

Yikes!

Hold off on ordering the relay until a more complete bill of material can be compiled. Get ready with your meter to begin checking components.

Precisely which resistors have overheated? That should provide a reasonable indication of what circuit(s) went over current.

I can visually see the insulated sleeve on R40 is burnt and R38 is charred like a burnt hotdog.
Is it ok to test voltages with it plugged into my DBT?

I would be wary of powering on the unit with anything but the smallest wattage lamp, maybe 40W as a start. That could still cause heating, so monitoring everything on the questionable channel would be advisable.

NO power for a while. Parts will have to be removed to clear the problem.

GOOD job on identifying the components, just be sure that you haven't been fooled by mirror images,
edit - you were - those are R37 & R39 - the tip off is looking at the clusters of the pots. The image you used was of the FOIL side - while the picture shows the component side. It gets us all at first....

D7, D9, Q9, Q11 are probably all damaged,

Check R43, R45, R47, R49 with one leg each disconnected - these MAY have saved your outputs - the output transistors will have to be removed and tested.