Have you seen a KA-3500 with no power supply regulator?

tusntuk2

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Looking at my second KA-3500 with no apparent regulation of the power supply. Missing parts - diodes, resistors and Qe25, and only two jumpers in place of the diodes. Is this legit? Wouldn't it affect many more parts that were designed for a regulated supply? Would it create more noise? Much to learn here, i'm not an engineer. My guess is someone trying to get more output?

I had to do some serious sleuthing to find an answer for you so I hope you appreciate the response. Here goes..if you look at the third photo of post #9 in this thread you will see that Qe25 is missing. A bit too coincidental to be a random thing so I would suggest to you it was a running change from Kenwood. I couldn't tell you why, but it seems legit.

Well done hopjohn! In both cases the amp was described as working, but in one of them there was lots of heat damage. It was very curious a second amp turned up the same way. I decided to rebuild the power supply anyway, adding the parts back per original schematic, so I'll post how it goes. Thanks for the effort! ("tall poppy syndrome - indeed! Love it!)

Successful reinstallation of PS regulation circuit. Powered up with DBT, just fine. With full AC DC offset was surprising low, at 11mv and 6mv, rare for this model. Unfortunately the left bias trimmer had no effect, and L bias was steady ar 2.4mv (yes, 2 point 4) The Rt side worked, hung out around 40mv after a brief warmup so I left it until things get more serious in here. Now I'm wondering why I could not adjust the L bias. I have replacements for the trimmers and for the transistors Qe7,8, a KSA992 I believe, so I'll try that. Any clues? I'll check some more voltages, too.

Last edited: