A CD Jukebox (a 25-year throwback...)

cpt_paranoia

Addicted Member
This comment on the Frox speaker system thread got me thinking about someting I played with about 25 years ago...
IMHO, the power of playing music from a computer comes from storing one's music library on the hard drive (i.e. the convenience of a PC juke box).

As my CD collection started to grow in the early 90's, I started playing with ideas for building a CD jukebox. It got the the stage of having a detailed design for the storage and picker system, with the storage being made from stacked, interlocking platters, each of which could carry 6 CDs in hexagonal pattern. The plan was that these platters would be glued together in stacks of 20, allowing storage of 120 CDs. You could then stack these 20-stacks on top of each other. The picker would ride up the inside of the stack, using the platters, with a helical umbilicus providing power & control.

There would be a base unit containing two CD drives, allowing one to play whilst the other was changed/loaded/cued up. A cover would stack on top of the uppermost 20-stack. You would just keep adding 20-stacks as the collection grew.

CDs could be added to the storage, either by manually sliding them into the slots, or by feeding them into a 'load slot' in the base unit.

I'd assumed that the unit would be able to index the CDs, and remember where they were stored, and provide an index to tracks for an external controller, or to provide a display allowing selection (that was 'just the electronics', my profession, so I was pretty sure this was possible; the 'fun part' was the mechanics, to occupy my spare time).

Like most of my ideas, it never came to anything, but a few years ago, I decided to model it up in SketchUp, again, just for fun. Here are a few pictures. I thought they might provide some amusement, whilst considering smoke_libr8tr's comment...