Recommended Modern Speakers

I bought a pair of Bowers and Wilkins 683's a few years back. Eventually, I built an entire 5.1 system around those floor standers. I think that they provide a huge bang for the buck with balanced lows, sweet transients and terrific imaging, but they took months to break in. They do not have that scooped midrange that a lot of people who have grown up on earbuds gravitate towards; in other words the mids are present and accounted for. Based on that experience, I recently purchased a pair of CM6 S2 for my new listening space. They are just starting to sound like hi fi speakers but they still sound like someone has jacked the EQ at 6000 Hz. I'm waiting for the matching stands which should help, but if the kick drum continues to sound like someone is thumping on a king sized pillow, they will be going back. I confident that they will lose that sibilant/thuddy thing eventually, and, mind you, I am just getting started with them, so it's way to early to draw any conclusions. I'm running them "Pure Direct" through my Yamaha 2 channel intie with 100 watts/channel. I have an SVS sub to go with the new BW's, but it's out in my home theater room getting its ass kicked by T2, Batman Begins, etc. for the break in period. I will keep you posted regarding the CM6's, but I have high hopes for them.

I have the Pioneer FS-52 (floor stander version of BS-22) and while they are great budget speakers - really great - they are lacking in high end. I run them with speakers A plus B with my Mirage bookshelves to add to the high end and I love the result.

I auditioned a bunch of speakers in store and found the Monitor Silver tower speakers to be my favorites a few years back out of the many I listened to (beat out Paradigms for eg.). I have not hear the Elacs though.