Complete noob - SX-737

technics11

Hi everyone, I just picked a nice looking SX-737 off CL for $125. Seller was a nice guy, said it works well and everything lit up in his pictures.

So I'm completely new to vintage audio. I currently have a Technics SL-DD33 w/art dj pre II and Edifier R-1280T powered speakers. I know enough to know I won't be using the Edifiers with this receiver. So do I need to do any precautionary things when testing this receiver out? I just want to make sure I don't mess anything up, blow any components or anything. If I just plug it in to see how it works/lights up is there anything that's fragile that I should be careful not to do? I'm a complete idiot when it comes to electrical stuff (I'm a structural engineer who struggled in my circuits class). I guess my paranoia comes from reading through a few threads of people troubleshooting their old pioneer receivers and hearing how some components could be delicate/worn.

What are the speaker plugs I hear people talking about? Are they just for connecting vontage speakers that have that type of cable? Can I hook up my cheap pioneer bookshelfs to the L and R channels and be alright?

Sorry for the complete helplessness. If anyone can point me to any good sticky's I'd be really thankful as well.

Thanks, Greg

You won’t need the Art DJ preamp either, the Pioneer has a built in phono preamp so just plug the turntable directly into the phono input on the back of the receiver. Also the SX-737 doesn’t use speaker plugs, it uses terminals. Make sure you connect the + and - terminals of your speakers to the + and - terminals on the receiver, if you get one of them mixed up it won’t sound right (in other words + from receiver to + on speakers and - from receiver to - on speakers). Cheap Pioneer bookshelves will be just fine (for now ;)). That’s a great receiver IMO, right in the middle of the lineup. Congrats!

Last edited: