Getting a recapped/serviced KA-8100. A question...

ethangsmith

Hi folks,

I am getting a recapped and serviced KA-8100 integrated amp. In the recap, the technician upped the four main filter caps from the original 10000uf to 15000uf. I've heard some people say it's fine to up the capacitance, others say no. Will this hurt this unit to make that jump? Just surprised to see he did that.

Thanks,

-Ethan.

Steppin' up, eh?

It's fine. The newer caps would likely measure at the low end of the +/- 20% range, so it's possible the jump isn't as big as it seems. It is a good idea to install sturdier rectifier diodes and and it's likely a bit tougher on the power switch. I redid my KA-8150 with 15K filter caps, installed 5A rectifier diodes and added a triac to the power switch after flipping it 180 to utilize the unused set of contacts and bridging both sides together.

IMG_0306.JPG

How hard is it to upgrade to what you did? Is there a walk-through of how to do it? I'm a novice when it comes to these sorts of things. I have a KA-7100 that someone already recapped and added an extra relay to the switch and it works great. I have a difficult pair of EPI 201 speakers that the 7100 sounds fine with, but it runs a bit hot. My hope is the 15wpc and true dual mono setup of the 8100 is just what the doctor ordered!

How hard is it to upgrade to what you did? Is there a walk-through of how to do it? I'm a novice when it comes to these sorts of things. I have a KA-7100 that someone already recapped and added an extra relay to the switch and it works great. I have a difficult pair of EPI 201 speakers that the 7100 sounds fine with, but it runs a bit hot. My hope is the 15wpc and true dual mono setup of the 8100 is just what the doctor ordered!