Macintosh 1500 vs Onkyo A-7

Beeb

I realize I may be talking oranges and apples here, but I’ve got the opportunity to buy a Macintosh 1500 in great condition for $500 and I’m wondering how it compares to my current amp, an Onkyo A-7. I’m new to all this but have been thinking for a while about getting a tube amp and this hybrid seems like a nice transition. Thoughts?

People love the 1400,1500 and 1700 and at that price it's a no brainer. That price is about half of what the supper rare 1500 can sell for. I'd buy it to try and if you thought you didn't like it for what ever reason you could sell it and get all your money back.

If it does sell for more than you have to pay, it's a buy just to try it as stated. McIntosh holds its value and well it seems almost all nice vintage gear is going up in price.

Let us know what you think of these two when you get a chance to compare them.

Thanks everyone. I'm definitely going to buy it. Though the same person is also selling an HH. Scott 399 Stereomaster that looks very cool. He hasn't named a price on it yet. Any thoughts on it vs the Macintosh? And not to make this super complicated, but he's also selling a Tandberg TR 2045 for around $150. That one I'm not familiar with at all. Thanks again. I'll definitely let everyone know how these compare to the Onkyo A-7. I've been very happy with it so far.

Keep in mind the MAC is going to need a restoration which can run up to $1K if you can't undertake yourself. Still easily worth the total investment if cosmetic condition is good. Last MAC1500 Audio Classics sold for $2,999 but I suspect it was near pristine.

Keep in mind the MAC is going to need a restoration which can run up to $1K if you can't undertake yourself. Still easily worth the total investment if cosmetic condition is good. Last MAC1500 Audio Classics sold for $2,999 but I suspect it was near pristine.