Yamaha CR-400

I just purchased a Yamaha CR-400, as-is, that does not turn on. There wasn't a fuse in the back, so I installed a 2.0 amp fuse. The three internal fuses are good.

First let me say that I'm not an electrician or a tech, and don't know all of the correct names and terms, but I have figured things out before. So, I guess that I'm a techs worst nightmare.

Anyway, I'm guessing that the power supply, part # GA60604, is bad. Current is flowing to the transformer, but I'm not getting any power from it.

Using a little AAA battery continuous tester shows that the power switch is good.

Any ideas what else I should check or where I can buy a new power transformer? Or what power transformer from another Yamaha CR receiver would work in it's place?

Whoever worked on this before is worse at soldering them I am.

Attachments

• 20150926_103741.jpg
    20150926_103741.jpg
    49.4 KB · Views: 43
  • 20150926_103732.jpg
    20150926_103732.jpg
    73.3 KB · Views: 44
  • 20150926_103757.jpg
    20150926_103757.jpg
    66.7 KB · Views: 44
  • 20150926_101627.jpg
    20150926_101627.jpg
    46.8 KB · Views: 42
Last edited:
Yay, thinking that I might have this figured out. Didn't see the fourth internal fuse, it was blown. Replacing that fuse and I got power. But turned unit off the back on, blew the fuse again.

Looking at the solder job on the board it looks like two wires are touching. Out of time, but I plan on resoldering the power transformer wires when I get the time next weekend.

I just purchased a Yamaha CR-400, as-is, that does not turn on. There wasn't a fuse in the back, so I installed a 2.0 amp fuse. The three internal fuses are good.

First let me say that I'm not an electrician or a tech, and don't know all of the correct names and terms, but I have figured things out before. So, I guess that I'm a techs worst nightmare.