Ohm's law and a Fisher 500 C

Mikeorg

I've put the new bridge rectifier in and got the Phono stage running again, but now have to do the math as to the correct impedance V-I-R, I am working on understanding and learning Ohm's law~IS There and easier softer way?~If I'm to continue working on electrical components I am going to have to! And so here is the "question" and please take into account I am a hobbyist not a trained Electrician, How do I get these readings Voltage and current and when I can calculate the resistance needed,and where in the circuit will I place the resister? I do hope that these questions don't insult anyone but I am trying to learn this the best I can. Thanks...IMG_4129.JPG IMG_4083.JPG IMG_4082.JPG

Last edited:
Are you trying to do something specific or are you just wanting to learn?

Are you trying to do something specific or are you just wanting to learn?
Well pin 4 on tube V17 of the phono section was at -22 after I have replaced the selenium rectifier"Before I got the tubes in that section to light up" and after I cleaned and tightened the pins the reading went up to -27 so I'm thinking maybe I need to put a resister somewhere in line to bring this reading down to -22 again?~Learning to do something specific...

rufleruf has the right idea to ask about line voltage, but you are 22% high between -22 to -27 which is more than can be attributed to line voltage alone. You could insert a high wattage (10W) 10 ohm resistor in the line coming off the top of the bridge and then measure the voltage across the 10ohm resistor. From that voltage measurement you can back-calculate the current draw and then figure out the real resistor you need.

1. To calculate current I = (V / R) where initially you are just using R = 10 ohms and you want to measure the DC voltage across the 10 ohm resistor with a multimeter set for DC volts.