Any Darter's Out There

ZebraBlvd

Lunatic Member
I've been throwing darts (soft and steel) for many years, and I still throw. Have been on local 4 and 2 man teams, and played tons of single matches. Had the opportunity and pleasure of going to Vegas for tournaments when I was at my height of throwing (I am just a B player). I just love the thrill of the competition. And there is no more fun than drinking beer and throwing pointed projectiles. :D

My projectiles of choice back then were the Jaguar's for soft tip and the Hammerheads for steel. Still have both sets (and a ton more of barrels for both soft and steel). The games I played mostly were 301 & 501, with the 501 games being a double out to win. On occasion I still wear my 1st Six Dart Out jacket when the weather is cool.

Just trying to find out if it is a lost sport here in the states. I myself am amazed when I watch the pro's throw steel. Their 501 games are shorter than the majority of 301 games played by us mortals.

Last edited:
I'm a bit too clumsy for that sport, ZB! :)
If I even tried to throw that thing, gravity my nemesis would mock me & let it fall to strike my foot! :D :D

Back when I was in the club scene I can remember a few spots where people enjoyed it, looks like its harder than one may think.

Maybe someone else will chime in with better comments my friend.
Stay safe!

Rome

I did play, (Tavern League) about 35 years ago. Lot's of fun, our team did well, I still have 2 trophy's in the basement for my efforts. 301 was the game back then. I was an oddball being lefthanded. One day, a friend of mine and I went into a favorite watering hole, were playing for fun, and I heard, "theirs only one lefthanded dart thrower in here", (not being me). He challenged me for $5.00. I went out in 6 darts! The guy said, I was just lucky, let's go again. I went out in 7 the next game. I knew the challenger for a number of years, so it was a friendly game(s), and didn't mind the taunting.

HELL YES!!!!