Packard Bell RPC43 Stereo Console HELP

kb12

Hello!

I have recently purchased a Packard Bell console stereo that does not currently work. I was hoping to gain some advice here.

I believe it has a tube tuner and the amp is solid state.

The unit does turn on (light on face of tuner dial turns on and tubes light up). However, I am not getting any sound. When I flip the speaker selection switch (external, internal, both), I can hear static in the speakers. Other than that, nothing.

There is a wire coming out of the amp that is not hooked into anything. It is in one of the pictures I included. Anyone know where this would plug into? Also, the input selector dial (FM, AM, Tape, Phono) spins in a full 360 degrees and has more stops than just the 4 selections . Maybe this is not engaging as it should?

Let me know if you have any ideas on what to check first. I am new to tube stuff. I have done some basic speaker recapping but no major repairs. It appears everything in this console is in good shape so I am hoping its a pretty easy fix and I can do it myself.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

You will probably have to pull the tuner and look underneath at that selector switch to see what's up with it. That could be the entire problem but maybe try a cd player or phone into the tape input jacks on the rear and rotate the selector switch to see if it makes any contacts with the tape input. If you get any sound, at least you know that the amp is working.

Sorry, my computer is blocking photo bucket so I can't click on them for bigger pics. Just download them directly here. It's probably way easier than using a photo hosting site.

In your 4th pic, that looks like the turntable power cable. You should see an opposite male socket mounted right under the turntable. This will plug in right there.

Thanks for the reply!