Packard Bell Model 10RP3...FOR RESTO...HELP please.

ODYOFAEL

The Voice of Vintage HiFi
The seller was firm with his price...$60. The radio was working, turntable turns but will need some lube work. Will need a new needle but was thinking of buying a whole new cartridge. I have no idea where to get it though. I started disassembling last night and here are pictures.

One thing I noticed was there was masking tape under the platter where the idler mates. I am not familiar with this type of TT and this is my first time having one of this vintage. Is there suppose to be something there in place of the masking tape or was it suppose to be bare, pretty much idler againts the platter metal?

Also I noticed one of the rubber grommet on the motor was toast. It was like hard plastic. I took it out and started to crumble. Again, I have no idea where to get parts. Maybe more DIY.

Also radio seem like it's struggling to get signal. Is there a way to fine tune this? I haven't opened the amp unit yet bad surely, I will be replacing the old caps. Will also check the condition of the speakers. Is it a good idea to replace the speakers?

Lastly, the box. Should I just scotch brite and re-oil? I need suggestions on this one.

Here are the pics.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    87.8 KB · Views: 9
Last edited:
well, the changer is easy. Thats a Voice of Music changer, and any parts you could ever want for it can be had from Gary at thevoiceofmusic.com. He's got a number of needles and cartridges and such too. I am kind of curious about the belt looking thing laying in the platter. These aren't belt drive turntables. Whats that from?

The tuner probably needs a rebuild and an alignment. I'd probably work on rebuilding the electronics first before trying to tweak it at all. Quite probably the rebuild will fix the poor performance.

I am kind of curious about the belt looking thing laying in the platter. These aren't belt drive turntables. Whats....