Quality tube sockets, and other parts?

Dale Murray

I am new to tube.
My entry was building a VTA ST120 from a kit (based on Dyncao ST70); kit would be a proven design, I could get support, and I knew it would work if I did not mess up. So far so good, works and sounds great.

*I want to rebuild it in a custom base for the following reasons:
- Tubes are tightly packed. I'd like to offer a little more breathing room, especially if I start running KT120 tubes.
- The Dynaco style base is ugly.
- I want to include bias meters for the tubes.
- I want to include VU meters because meters make the music sound better. <-- I'm joking.
- I want to move the RCA jacks to the rear of the cabinet.
- I want to move the power button to the front.

I intend to transfer most of the expensive components from my existing amp to the new one. I am looking for advice on brands and sources for high quality components for the following:

**8-pin octal sockets
C24-X choke
Quad Cap (80,40,30,20 Mfd)
.022 Mfd 100 volt capacitor
1000 ohm 1 watt resistors
10 ohm 2 watt resistors
4.7K ohm 3 watt resistors

I do understand these are basic components but, if a type or brand is known to sound better than others, I would like to know.

* I am a woodworker, have access to metal working machines, and handy with CAD if I want custom machines parts.

** I am really lost when it comes to tube sockets, seems like most cost about the same. do not know if there are any known to be better quality than others.

These micalex sockets by Belton are the gold standard, in my opinion: https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/socket-belton-micalex-8-pin-octal-mip

As far as the C-24X choke is concerned, that's s standard Triad Magnetics part, so you can get it from any Triad distributor, but Mouser is always a good bet.