Fisher 400 - Tube rolling and phono help!

Jon Kasper

Hi all,

Have been rocking out to my Fisher 400 over the past year thanks to the awesome recommendations on this forum, and have really been loving it! Have the 400 driving two Klipsch Cornwall IIs, using both my TT (with the 400s phono/pre) and a DAC (Grant Fidelity Tubedac-11). 4ohms tap for the cornwalls. My Fisher 400 is a basic restore job I believe which I purchased off ebay, see the pictures attached.

Have two questions hoping some of the seasons 400 vets may be able to be able to help with if there's any chance.

1. Tube rolling

Truth be told, I'm a rookie when it comes to which tube goes where and am struggling to figure out where I might be able to experiment/improve things. At present I am using a strong matched quad of some new EH 7868s for the output tubes which I am very happy with. thanks Jim mcshane!

With respect to other sections... when I bought the Fisher 400 it had a smorgesboard which I have slowly been replacing as my budget allows, but not sure if what I have done is ideal or could be done better... on a budget.

W4GGsww.png

Here's what I currently am using in the other sections right now:

V10 & V11: new production matched pair of Sovtek 12AX7.

V12 & V13: new production matched pair of Tung Sol 12ax7 (NOT gold plate pins)

V8 & V9: new production matched pair of tung sol 12ax7 (NOT gold plate pins)

And then old stock in all other sections, not sure of the quality/effectiveness of the remaining tubes in place as I have only replaced the output tubes and the 12AX7 as per above.

Does the selection above seem sound, could it be made better? Is there any key tubes I have not replaced/looked into that I should ie if they play a part in quality of sound produced. I dont use the Fm receiver so not a big deal if the other tubes are only used for radio.

Other tubes I have on hand and in other sections:
- 3 12AX7 Pilot Radio (which I believe are Japanese Raytheon long plates)