EAC, metadata and classical music

N8Nagel

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Hi all,

I am re-setting up my Windows PC as I had to completely wipe it and start over. At the same time, I am putting a big push on getting all my old CDs organized and making sure my rips are good.

I am having this sinking feeling I've messed something up.

When I rip classical, I know that this is probably not the accepted way to do it, but to play nice with my filing scheme I do it this way:

Artist is actually composer, last name first.
Composer is composer, in normal format
Performer field in EAC, which is given as %albuminterpret% in EAC, is the performer (symphony/composer, whatever)
Comment is the label/number if I remember to input it.

Here's where I think I've messed up. I started playing with Foobar2000 since I had to set it up again anyway and after installing the HDCD plug in started adding columns for all the info that I wanted displayed. None of my classical stuff is showing Performer info when I put a custom column in Foobar2000. Composer and Comment are coming through fine.

Does anyone have any idea what I messed up?

Here are my FLAC compressor command line options.

-8 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "PERFORMER=%albuminterpret%" -T "COMPOSER=%composer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file=LYRICS="%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albumartist%" -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" %hascover%--picture="%coverfile%"%hascover% %source% -o %dest%

Any help greatly appreciated. Now I feel bad as I've shared some rips with a few people and if they drill down into my classical they're probably thinking what the actual hell was this guy doing, I know this is Beethoven's 7th but who the hell is performing it?