Using a multimeter on a circuit board

CavScout

I am fairly new to working on electronics but I am learning.

One challenge that I have had is testing the parts (caps, resistors, transistors etc).
The top of the board is almost impossible to take readings from and the back of the board is an incredibly hard to follow map (especially when you can't position the receiver in a position for easy board access).
Online schematics are faded and hard to read.
Is there a trick I am missing here ?

Other people will have their own methods, but when I can't make out what's what on the solder side of the board, I try to stand the unit on its side and shine a pen light from the component side. That usually helps me get close enough to figure out what I'm looking at.

+1. Also, try to locate some hole, heat-sink, screw, whatever you can see from both sides of the board, and use it as a reference, then mark with a marker on the solder side the components you need to measure. Checking continuity ("beep") with the meter from one side of the board to the solder side can help to verify you are at the right component.

Anyway, I don't see any trick you are missing. If schematic is not readable, board not accessible, not too much you can do. I'd remove the board if needed. Find the less invasive method. Sometimes you spend a lot of time to do some work without disassembling , and it takes longer than disassembling, work faster, and assemble again.

. I'd remove the board if needed. Find the less invasive method. Sometimes you spend a lot of time to do some work without disassembling , and it takes longer than disassembling, work faster, and assemble again.

That is what I am thinking.
I had a guy on this forum tell me once " you should never ever ever remove a board from the unit because ALL work can be done without doing so"
I am thinking of clipping the wires, remove the board.......test.......fix.......resolder the clipped wires.......test unit