Tape format and speed

Frank Sch

Newbie here. :)

I understand that the higher the speed, the better the music quality. But less music recorded per length of tape.

I understand that the wider the format (2 track vs 4 track) the better the quality. But less music recorded per length of tape.

Best quality from 1/4inch tape therefore, is obtained with 15in/sec on 2 track.

But to increase music time, which gives better quality:

2 track running at 7 1/2, or 4 track running at 15in/sec?

I'm guessing the latter gives better quality, with allfullsizeoutput_1146.jpeg else being equal.

Learning, Thanks!

Probably right, but never had the right deck to try it. (Never ran across a 15ips quarter-track recorder.) Made many a 15ips 2-track master, though.

Probably right, but never had the right deck to try it. (Never ran across a 15ips quarter-track recorder.) Made many a 15ips 2-track master, though.

I bought this A77 last summer and have been both saving money for the refurbishment and finding a tech. Just delivered it to him and he reported that this one is a 4-track format modified to 7 1/2 and 15ips. I like the high speed feature paired with twice the recording time of 4-track. Fingers crossed that whoever did the modification did a thorough proper job. Apparently some sound cards also need modification or exchange?

Hi Guys,

I have always had the view that a 4 track running at 15 IPS is a waste. We are talking 4 track as in flipable to side 2 and not 4 tracks at once!!

To me 15 IPS is worth the tape expense at 2 Track only. The speed gives the quality, the track width gives a lower noise floor. Also if I have a quality 15 IPS recording, the bleed through from the opposite sides tracks are a real downer. The problem does not exist with 2 Tracks.