Vintage audio late 70's mid 80's maintenance

saltland

Newbie here...I'm considering putting together a stereo system using components from late 70's early 80's.My question is maintenance/repairs.I've noticed may involved with this area of the hobby repair there own gear.For those who do not..do you find it difficult to find service for these items?
Scott

I've noticed may involved with this area of the hobby repair there own gear.For those who do not..do you find it difficult to find service for these items?

Depends upon your location. Some areas of the country are pretty much devoid of competent techs, others have numerous techs close by. There are also AKer's that will take on, or assist you with "projects"--again, depending on your location.

Keep in mind that maintenance/repair/restoration of vintage gear can get expensive if you don't learn to do it yourself, and have to pay a tech. Also, most "good" techs have a "wait list", so turn-around time may run into weeks or even months, so don't expect to be able to drop it off Mon and pick it up Fri.

Just starting out and not being able to DIY, you might be best off paying the premium price for pieces that have already been fully restored, or at least recently serviced. Do your homework in choosing pieces. There is stuff out there where parts are brutally expensive, or difficult/damned near impossible to source.

Not discouraging you from acquiring vintage gear (nearly all of my stuff is at least 30 years old), but just making you aware of what you are jumping into.

Good Luck!!!

OH--and welcome aboard!

Depends upon your location. Some areas of the country are pretty much devoid of competent techs, others have numerous techs close by. There are also AKer's that will take on, or assist you with "projects"--again, depending on your location.