What color should I paint my new listening room?

beatcomber

AK Member
My daughter went off to college this past August, and she has given me her blessings to convert her 11' x 14' bedroom into my new listening space. Even though the numbers don't sound that much bigger, this is a significant upgrade over the cramped 8' x 12' office downstairs I've been using for the past 13 years! In the old room, I felt like I was in a box, but there's actually room to walk around in the new room.

I spent some time playing with speaker positioning on Sunday. I started with the Cardas calculator, and that put the speakers 5' out into the room, which is nearly halfway! Pushing them back a foot, my Spendor SP3/1R2's sounded rather thin and what bass was there sounded kind of loose and undefined. I pushed them back further, maybe 2.5' from the front wall, and that sounded very good. Much fuller, tighter and dynamic, with little loss of imaging depth. They are also about 3' from the side walls, with OC703 panels at the first reflection point.

There is still a lot of work to be done in here. Before I can fully move in, I need to repaint the walls, which are presently a pale blue color. I'm nut sure what color to go with, so suggestions would be appreciated. I want this room to have a relaxing atmosphere, so a warm color is what I'm leaning towards. The Ikea shelves are the dark brown/black wood color, the speakers have a cherry finish, and the turntables have walnut plinths. (The one in the middle is a 1958 Rek-O-Kut B-12-GH with a walnut Grado tonearm, currently a work in progress.) The fabric on the OC703 panels is a maroon color.

Grey walls would look good, but I think it would be too cool a color. Should I go with a shade of cream/beige/tan or...?

Here's a current view:

NJNfFrk.jpg

I'm a very 'bland' type of guy and like Navajo White. My current 'listening space', which doubles as our livingroom, is a pastel yellow with white ceiling.