Fisher 400CX-2 potentiometer

vendo81

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
On Ebay there is a person selling a new version of the volume pot (with on/off switch) for the Fisher 400cx-2, 400c, X-1000, etc...

Of the half dozen or so 400cx-2 preamp's I've owned, 3 had volume pots that wouldn't track correctly. One channels volume would track differently than the other. The switch was another problem but they are available with a little searching.

I've been using one for several years that tracks really well but have one boxed up that tracks terribly. It tracks so bad that one channel is still heard when all the way down and they don't track the same until at the 11 or 12 o'clock position. Replacing the volume control without the correct taps would cause you to lose the loudness function. I did this on the boxed up preamp so the volume worked as it should but lost the use of the loudness switch. Hopefully the taps on this new pot would bring back the loudness function.

Has anyone tried one of these for fit and for how well they perform? I thought I'd ask before ordering a couple.

Thanks for posting this vendo. Just had a look at the ebay seller's site and his pots look very promising. I need one for a 500-B but wouldn't mind having an extra or two. I don't know what the loudness tap is for the preamps with reference to your post, but he has the tap for the amps/receivers at 125k. For some reason I thought it was lower than that, like 75k.

I'll see what others have to say before hiting the buy button.

Keith, are you talking about that Capt Fant******** guy? Seems he has new pots for all kinds of Mac and Fisher gear, have never done business though. He has 2 Screen names on that site. Hope you find one! :) Al