N44E/improved or N55E/improved

MrGrady

I have a Marantz 6370Q turntable with a Shure M44E cartridge.
I wanted to try a Jico stylus. But I don't know which would be the better choice.
I'm currently tracking at 1.5 grams.
I listen to a lot of different types of music i.e. rock, jazz, blues, classical .......
So which one would you pick, and why?
N44E/improved or N55E/improved?

Thanks

I have no experience with the N55E stylus.
Neither, JICO or other aftermarket styli.

However, from the original options for that series, I'd rank the N44-7 at the top of my list.
If you are happy with your original N44E, you would be even happier with the N44-7.
The N44C heavy tracking option, must come second and is also very pleasing.

The N44E and the N44G, are very similar both in tonality and in tracking, to the classic N44-7 with only minor sonic differences.
Great options, as well.

I'm not really sold on a conical tip.
That said, I don't think I ever listened to a conical tip stylus.
Here's my reasoning: with an elliptical tip there would be more surface area on the vinyl. Which should produce more information. Which should be more musical.
I'm not really educated on this.....and I could be totally wrong. :)

That said, I don't think I ever listened to a conical tip stylus

If you find an original N44-7 at a fair price, I'd suggest you try it and be the judge.

From my own experience and testing, the N44-7 is a bit superior sonically, to the very good N44E.

Well I went ahead and did it.
I order both the N44-7/improved and the N44E/improved from Jico.
Between breaking in new tubes on my amp, phono stage, and new stylus.......... This should a pretty fun month.

That said, I don't think I ever listened to a conical tip stylus.
Here's my reasoning: with an elliptical tip there would be more surface area on the vinyl. Which should produce more information. Which should be more musical.
I'm not really educated on this.....and I could be totally wrong. :)