Pioneer SX-780 - Diagnosing a problem

thedude85

Hello,
I am new to electronics and also new to AudioKarma. I'm learning as I go, but I'm motivated. I acquired a Pioneer SX-780. It turns on with lights, the receiver will tune into a station, but there is no sound from speakers/headphone jack, and also no click on the relay. I could use some AudioKarma wisdom and help diagnosing the problem.

Here's my initial results with the DVM.

STK-0050 - Left Channel
0: -24.8 V
9: 41.3 V
8: -14.3 V

3: -14.4 V
2: -41.3 V
1: -27.2 V

STK-0050 - Right Channel
0: 1.2 V
9: 41.4 V
8: 0 V

3: 0 V
2: -41.2V
1: -1.3 V

PA3004
1: 13.8 V
4: -0.6V
5: 0 V
6: -7.1 V
7: 0 V
8: 0.5 V

I think the left channel STK is shot, and maybe that's why the protection circuit/relay isn't clicking? I'm not sure. Could the problem be from somewhere else? I appreciate your help. Thank you.

Welcome Aboard!

Without taking my word for it, I think you'll discover that you've come to the right place. There is a LOT of support here for the venerable old 780.

I would agree with your initial assessment. The Darlington pack in the left channel seems to have failed with E-C shorts. You can remove the pack, clean up any desoldering mess, disconnect the speakers, turn the volume to 0, and power the unit on to see if the protection relay closes. It may operate with one module removed, but don't load on any speakers or bring up the volume just yet.

Welcome Aboard!

Without taking my word for it, I think you'll discover that you've come to the right place. There is a LOT of support here for the venerable old 780.

I would agree with your initial assessment. The Darlington pack in the left channel seems to have failed with E-C shorts. You can remove the pack, clean up any desoldering mess, disconnect the speakers, turn the volume to 0, and power the unit on to see if the protection relay closes. It may operate with one module removed, but don't load on any speakers or bring up the volume just yet.