Sansui AU-G99X, a little help needed.

bharry

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Just traded for a Sansui AU-G99X this past weekend and I am impressed. I hooked it up to my Ohm Walsh 3XO and it is like I am listening to them for the first time, they are finally getting the power that they need.

My issue is that when I hooked it up everything worked fine for a day but when I was listening to an album the next day the left channel went quiet. The issue is only with the phono input, all the other inputs work fine. I switched out the turntable and got the same results with the other table. Toggeling between MM & MC doesn't make a difference. It was on MC (Denon DL-110) when the problem occurred. I'm not sure where to start. I'm not a complete newbie, I fixed up a AU-555a by replacing all the UFO transistors and got it working again, but I'm still a bit lost..

Luckily I've got an external phono preamp to use for now but I'd prefer to use the built in one because it sounded so good.

I downloaded the serivce manual but it hasn't been much of a help yet.

Thanks in advance for any help!

aEOKbJ6.jpg

It might be dirty contacts on the Phono input selector switch 'S2' (MM/MC) - and/or the Input selector switch S4 (push buttons) as the Phono signal is routed via this switch group before passing onward to the rest of the amplifier. A squirt of DeOxit on the contacts and a bit of exercising of the respective switch should bring it back if this is the case.

NB: I am assuming that the amplifier plays ok on all other inputs...

Take a look at the schematic - where the signal path is clearly indicated, check things along this path to find the issue.

I used to have the same problem with my G99X in the past. A nice whack on the right side of the Amplifier would temporarily fix it. It was due to cold solder joints. Wouldn't hurt to reflow the joints on the phono board if deoxit doesn't fix it.