David Heath

Hello , all . I am new to this forum ,site , and Vintage AUDIO. I bought a new 2285B receiver ect not long after I graduated High School in 1976. I got one of the first production units as I had it before the end of the first semester , of Jr College. But back in now a d my son bought me a somewhat_ Functioing 2270 for Christmas. THE 2270 is a completely different story , but while I was waiting on parts for it, I decided to look for a 2285B . On Ebay , what I wound up with is a 2285BD. It is Nice , really nice ! CLEAN , tone boards , phono boards , Amp Perfect!! BUT the AM radio , Fm 25us , had problems,,and the stereo Lamp was inop. After a fairly intense internet search & checking with Marantz.com I realized that no easily accessibly site had service manuals or schematics for it , the 2285BD. After a quick look at Vintage Audio Site forums , I was like like most of the opinions posted and assumed that it was a close knockoff to and I would be able to use a 2285B and take care oF it.
HOW WRONG ALL OF US ARE!!!!!!!!!
I was grateful to find and obtain access to Audiokarma.org!! After downloading service manuals of all the equipment manufactured between.1975 and 1985 The closest boards and amps are the 2330B . The AM / FMBoards for all that era are close , probably the same basic components for the 4 IC dual receiver single boards . BUT LAYOUT, LABELING, AND AMOUNT OF FILTERING ARE DIFFERENT AS PRICE AND POWER OUT INCREASE. If anyone has the right service manual , and or schematic PLEASE HELP!!!!

Hi David and welcome to AK!

I have found that the 2285B P200 board has 2 or 3 major variations from the schematic along with it's associated wiring to the front panel boards and switches..

All is not lost though because several of the variations are exactly the same as the P200 board in the 2330B schematic.

You just have to cross compare them.

Post a few pics of your board if you can.

Bob