Dynaco sca35 recapped.....400.00 or best offer

Jcbluesman

Newbie here with more newbie questions. I just ran across a dynaco sca35 recapped by a experienced service tech, says 30 yrs doing so, and has it listed for 400 bucks obo. Not in mint condition, for sure. Stated as running top notch. I have not contacted him, and here's my question. Should I bother with this integrated amp, and if so, what is its value, and what should I offer the guy. It's been listed for over 2 months so nobody local is interested and it for $400. Basically, I don't work on them and I was wondering if anyone knew anything about this amp and that it was worth pursuing. Thanks for any information you may have.

There are many fans of that unit. Google, search AK and you can do a bunch of reading and decide if you are interested. About 17.5 watts per channel so you want efficient speakers. Working ones go for $250 to $600 on ebay -- depending on condition and whether restored. $300 to $350 recapped would be good deal if in decent cosmetic condition. Less depending on what you mean by "not mint." There are all kinds of mods you can do to it.

What speakers do you plan to pair it with?

There are many fans of that unit. Google, search AK and you can do a bunch of reading and decide if you are interested. About 17.5 watts per channel so you want efficient speakers. Working ones go for $250 to $600 on ebay -- depending on condition and whether restored. $300 to $350 recapped would be good deal if in decent cosmetic condition. Less depending on what you mean by "not mint." There are all kinds of mods you can do to it.

What speakers do you plan to pair it with?
BA a100's. Thanks. I'll read on it and maybe offer 300 if it would be something I'd like. I'm checking all my local options and I might go tube a lot sooner than I thought I would. Thanks again