Watkins woofer white paper

What would you like to know about the Watkins woofer. I have had many years experience . Ask away.

BTW, thanks for the PM and welcome to AK rs1b! I'll copy it and post it here when I get home from work for others' use if that's okay by you.

i believe the earliest Watkins setup in the QLS1 had the thick black trim ring, black cone, and the 1400/1600uF caps. could be that those different caps gave a different frequency response they decided to change in later models, or that the early woofer had different parameters and the net sonic results were similar between the two. at this point, the only person who probably knows what went on in the very early stages is Bill.

Nope. Have those.

I don't need them for myself (only have Q2's :sigh:) but I find it fun to dig into the technical history of the Quantum line, and I threw that out to see if anyone had more info. You seem to have unearthed a bit of a mystery here.

Wouldn't it be nice if whomever owns all the engineering documents released them into the public domain ? (as is available for AR - see classicspeakerpages website).

Going back to the referenced article on groups.google.com (kmanusa), it seems that Infinity sort of messed up Bill Watkins design intent by not correcting the crossover. Maybe they did make the correction later on, if it could be determined that the 1400/1600 mfd were used in later models.

jimreeves - were the inductor values the same in that 1400/1600 crossover of yours as shown in the 1100/1400 schematics?

Last edited:
I hope so, I have no way to measure their values and there were no markings on them. No magic smoke and good sounds resulted. Just kept them in their correct locations within the circuit and crossed fingers!

Jim