Bose 601 series iii - what do you think??

boatdrinks77

What are your thoughts on the Bose 601 series III speakers?? I own 2 pair with the walnut finish- I have noticed lately on EBAY these speakers keep going for more and more - The last pair went for $780 + shipping. The average has been over $600..... I think my speakers sound ok, I own them because i love the look of the speaker. I'm no speaker expert, I like the sound of my bose, but maybe i should audition something different. My whole system is based on aesthetics - stuff that i like the looks of: Pioneer QX-949 Receiver, Pioneer PL-630 TT, Magnavox FD3030SL01 CD Player, Akai GX-F66RC Cassette, Denon DE-70 Equalizer and Pioneer RT-707 and 1020RL RTRs. I think my gear is pretty good, but not really true audiophile. Thanks guys, dan :)

Last edited:
I have a pair of 601 Series III. I couldn't pass on them, mint condition with original boxes and manuals, for $50. I was thinking I would flip them, but I hooked them up, and was surprised to find that I really liked them. For my small and less than ideal listening space, I find the direct/reflecting concept works pretty well. I was surprised at the bass output. I have been a Bose basher for pretty much all of my adult life, but these speakers aren't bad. I have never heard any earlier 601's, but I have seen more positive comments about the 601 speakers than for most other Bose products.

I'm always looking for something better, but for now I'm fairly satisfied with the Bose. Man, that's hard to admit...

I had the 601 series II, nice speakers they were. I like the look of the series III as well....maybe someday:scratch2:

I think they sound pretty good also - but people love to put them down. Why do Bose have this stigma attached to them? When people ask about my system, they always tell me to get better speakers. I love the fact that they are real walnut veneer.