Dynaco SCA-35

vintageboy

Chicago HiFi
I just got a tube amp Dynaco SCA-35 and I am new with the tube amps.

A friend told me that is has to have the "Bias" set, I googled and I found a lot of info but the amp I have doesn't have the bias pot like most of the amps have. Another guy told me that some amps are with fixed bias so is there anything I have to do on the amp? I am asking because it is in mint and barely used, everything original and I don't wanna ruin it!

Thank you

Any old tube amp should have the capacitors replaced, including the power supply electrolytics. I believe the SCA-35 is self-bias..does not have a bias setting pot. However, you need to use fairly well matched pairs of output tubes (6BQ5). That amp can be a real sweet sounding one.

The tubes are original Dynaco so they are the proper ones for the amp! Everything is original like I said! I have the brochures and the manual book. I guess it is fixed since it doesn't have the bias pot!

I guess the capacitors are still good because it sounds good. It is barely used. I have heard an amp with old caps so I know how it will sound. The one I have sounds pretty good so I just worried about the bias thing.

Changing the caps is an easy thing and I might change them when I have free time!

The tubes are original Dynaco so they are the proper ones for the amp! Everything is original like I said! I have the brochures and the manual book. I guess it is fixed since it doesn't have the bias pot!

I guess the capacitors are still good because it sounds good. It is barely used. I have heard an amp with old caps so I know how it will sound. The one I have sounds pretty good so I just worried about the bias thing.

Changing the caps is an easy thing and I might change them when I have free time!

To be correct technically, "fixed" bias is the term used to indicate a bias that you "can" set with a pot or control. "Self" bias is the term used when there is no way to adjust bias.

It uses "cathode bias".