Guitar - can I learn?

specialidiot

Break Glass, Smoke Lucky
I would like to learn a musical instrument. I was a musician in my early days - piano, and various brass including trombone, baritone, french horn, and tuba.

I think it would be nice to have something to mess with in my rare spare time. I can still read music.

Is this something that's doable?

If so, how do I start? I don't even own a guitar, so that would be step one, right?

Get yourself a guitar and a good book, or just start nodleing with one.

If you go with an electric take it to a pro and get it set up correctly, it makes them much nicer to play (a correctly set up Squire bullet strat is actually a very nice guitar).

Yes, you can absolutely do it if you stick to it. You can buy a decent playable guitar these days for $150. Go for it.

I'm about four months ahead of you. Apparently, it can be done. I'm picking it up bit by bit. And it's fun.
If I had any advice, from this end of the learning curve, it would be:
1. Get an acoustic - my first choice would be a nylon stringed (classical), but a steel stringed works too. The callusing of the fingertips is quite a process, and nylon strings are really easy for starting up. There are a couple of respectable Yamahas in the $150 range.
2. Get an electric too (about a month or two later). You'll like to make the noises, and the neck is a different environment. A Squire Strat is a real good choice, just not an "Affinity Series", their cheapest - buy one used and get it set up.
3. Get a video based lesson plan, and a book too. They'll both come in handy. I like my book by Phil Capone, appropriately titled "Learn to play the guitar." Browse a bookstore til you find one that seems to make sense to you.
4. Get a music stand - a cheap $15 one. Though your ability to read music won't really do you much good (I played horn for 15 years too) except for rhythm, your neck and back will thank you.