Heavily Tweaked Images

Sometimes you get funky cool results when you colorize, blur, enlarge, excessively filterize...

How creative can you get?

Cross_brightSM.jpg

Last edited:
I almost started a thread asking about this... or at least altering pictures..

I've never messed with a picture I've taken. I know I'm not a professional or anything, and a lot of times it's only by luck I get a good picture, but I don't even crop my pictures to get them centered or anything... To me, doing everything through the view finder is the only way a picture should be edited..

But then I see pictures like these that have effects added, and I like them and they are cool, and it makes me want to play with some too, but I still feel like you're really not showing what was captured..

I share your philosophy, Simi. Composition and editing is done before the shutter release. When I was shooing chromes, I NEVER altered a scene or disturbed wildlife for a "better shot"- still don't... it's my driving philosophy and will continue into my digital era.

But playing around is fun too! And I had never done this prior... until this thread.

Yours, in morph,
Tyler

These are nice sentiments of a bygone era. I preached them religiously myself even though it was a total lie. We overexposed film to get a bit more contrast and color. Underexposed slide film a tad for the same reason. It was a necessary lie due to film cost, lab costs, time switching bodies, lenses and film out. Film processing was tweaked to compensate for the color characteristics of the film used. Dodging, burning, full frame negative carriers vs custom vs stock, time of exposure... Filters, filters, filters everywhere.